Saturday 8 December 2007

Three Mice

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:31 pm by knotsincotton

No, not the blind ones. The Wise ones. Ringing a bell? 😉

About two months ago I ordered a chart called Three Wise Mice by Fiddlestitch Cottage. I thought it was just too cute and a bit of a change from the normal Three Wise Men and all that.  While I was out shopping yesterday with a friend, she pointed to little figurines and commented on how different they were from the normal Christmas decorations. Okay, to make a long story short – the little figurines turned out to be mice. The Three Wise Mice! What a coincidence! There were two sets left, and I bought both sets. :mrgreen: Even though it’s not really my style of decorations, I thought it would make a great little display having the stitched piece alongside the figurines.

3 Wise Mice

My SaBF Snow Peace is finished and I’m quite happy with how it turned out. Although I must confess, the bottom button that is one stitch ‘off’ (as per the chart) really bothers me because the more I look at it the more it just looks like a mistake…

Winter Peace

Jennifer over at Sweet Pea Stitches invited me to join the 2008 Bride’s Tree SAL. Seeing as the Good Husband and I have been married for nearly seven years and I never stitched a Wedding Sampler I think the Tree is a fantastic idea. Who knows, it might even  inspire me to do the long overdue Wedding Sampler. (I’ve chosen to do the Bride’s Tree Ornaments by Something in Common for the SAL.) She set up a blog for it with the ‘how’ and ‘when’ and you can see it here. If you’re interested in joining, drop Jennifer an email. After all, the more the merrier!!

Today I managed to drop off more Christmas mail and decorate the house. (Hey, does that make me sound efficient or what?) This year we’ll be spending Christmas at my sister’s house so I’ve decided against putting up the big tree. For the first time in seven years, my mum will be spending Christmas with us so Christmas is a big deal this year. I haven’t seen my mum for more than a year so you can imagine how much I’m looking forward to Christmas. She will be spending two weeks in January with us here in Germany as well- oooh, exciting!!! :mrgreen:

That’s it for now. Hope you’re all having a fabulous weekend!

6 Comments »

  1. Dee said,

    Ohhhh, I love when I can have company at Christmas. For the first time in 24 years, we are having company too. My sister and her family are coming.

    I hope you have a wonderful holiday with your Mum! Sounds like you have A LOT of catching up to do!

  2. Sweet Pea said,

    Thanks for letting people know about the blog – I think it will be a lot of fun to see what people pick for their ornaments. We (or rather, I) decorated our tree tonight, which is something I love doing because of all the memories. DH and I put together a set of Bride’s Tree ornaments with regular ornaments, but I am looking forward to making a stitched set.

  3. cheryl said,

    Congrats on your finish! Ive never seen that design before, it’s lovely

  4. Emily said,

    Cute finish. I wouldn’t have thought at all that the button is misplaced. But fix it if it bugs you. 😉 Your mind will rest easier if you do.

  5. Sally said,

    Oh I love your Winter Peace. It is just gorgeous:)

    I’m seriously thinking of joining Jennifer with her Bride’s Tree SAL. I haven’t made my mind up yet as I’m not sure I can keep up!

    Your three wise mice are so cute:)

  6. Sue said,

    The three mice are so cute, and they’ll make a fun companion for your chart. I hadn’t seen the mice chart before, I’ll bet it’s adorable done up.

    Peace looks lovely. As to the button placement, I wouldn’t have noticed if you hadn’t pointed it out. However, after you made the comment it does look a little to off center as normally buttons are in alignment. As much as I hate to frog, I think if it was me I’d frog it out and redo that section.


Leave a Reply

