Monday 25 June 2007

All things bright…

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:13 pm by knotsincotton

Today is the official start of the next SAL project, but yours truly didn’t make a start. In fact, I have yet to sort the thread and prepare the fabric. I did however have a close look at the charts this morning and I think that’s the mistake I made. How can there be so many half stitches in the designs when each is smaller than 40 x 40 stitches! 😯

Funny thing is that a couple of years ago half, quarter and three-quarter stitches didn’t bother me in the least, and that was when I stitched solely on Aida. They were as natural to me as a ‘full’ cross stitch.  Since those days I mastered evenweave and by all that is right and holy, I shouldn’t be bothered by them now that they’re so much easier to do fabric wise. 

I made very little progress on the Snowman stocking since my last post, but it’s steadily coming along and that’s the main thing!

 Snowman2

I bought this fabric on Saturday and if you’re thinking ‘Ouch, that’s bright!’ you’d be so, so right! 😀 A lot of people I know either have a thing for tortoises or for frogs so when I saw the fabric I just knew that I had to buy some.  I couldn’t make up my mind which matching fabby I liked best so to be on the safe side I took both. The only idea I had when I saw the fabric was that I can make my mum (tortoise fan) and her friend (frog fan) a library bag each and a shopping bag for a friend (frog fan) of mine.  After making the bags about half the fabric should be left and then I can make some goodies for the other tortoise and frog lovers I know. Well, I always have fabulous plans for fabric that never materialise so let’s wait and see if the bags ever get made… 

Brights

Thanks for everyone’s comments  – I love reading them! :mrgreen:

6 Comments »

  1. Harmien said,

    Hee hee, that frog/tortoise fabric is too cute!! And inspiring… I’m doing a little frog project myself, you see. The snowman is really starting to take shape. Can’t wait to see more! Happy stitching!!

  2. KarenV said,

    What great fabrics! Love the cute tortoises and frogs! Your snowman is coming along nicely too 🙂

  3. Einschie said,

    Hi June,
    saw your comment on my blog, thx:-) How did you find me??? After looking through your photos you made I had to go and see where you are living because they look sooo German:-)))
    How is it to live in Germany? You can write a email to me, would be nice;-))
    Gaby/Einschie

    Edited to say:
    Gaby – habe nach ‘stick blog’ gegoogelt. Wollte mal sehen, was die Deutsche Mädels so sticken. 🙂 Mein Deutsch ist gerade mal gut genug um in Deutsch zu googeln! 😉 Ich werde Dir eine Email schicken, aber auf Englisch, da Deutsch schreiben mir sehr schwer fällt.
    Grüße, June

  4. Dee said,

    What a cute face on the snowman!

  5. Einschie said,

    Ok, mach das, ich freu mich, wenn ich auf deutsch antworten kann*lol*

    Gaby

  6. Sue said,

    Your current stocking is looking very cute, you’re going to have wonderful stockings to use at Christmas. The frog/tortoise fabric is great, it will make up into adorable projects.


Leave a Reply

