Saturday 16 June 2007

LHN Rose Sampler Finished

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:47 pm by knotsincotton

Hope everyone is having a great weekend! As you can guess from the title, I finished the little LHN sampler.  It’s really pretty stitched up and I’m so glad that I finally got around to doing it!

LHN Rose

I started the CCN Sunflower sampler as soon as I finished the Rose Sampler on Thursday and here is my itty progress on it. (Even though I have the overdyes the Sunflower calls for, I decided to convert the colours to DMC to give the samplers a more coherent look.) 

CCN Sumflower

When I had to change the yellow for the sunflower, this pic that I took in my mum’s garden last year came to mind because this, for me is sunflower sunflower yellow. 😉 Unfortunately I don’t know what this sunflower is called – my mum just calls them ‘the double sunflowers’.

Mum - sunflower

Today we went to Ingolstadt. Although it’s very close to us (only about 90km) we have never been there before so thought we’ll go have a look around.  Before we went, I checked online to see whether there is a fabric or stitchy shop in the area. Well, I couldn’t find a stitchy shop online but did manage to find a fabric store.  The internet site said, and I quote ‘a big shop with a wide variety of fabric and haberdashery with friendly staff eager to help’. Now if that doesn’t sound promising I don’t know what does. Anyway, The Good Husband drove there first (the man has his priorities straight!! *rofl*) and when we got to the address, there was no shop! Nothing. Zip. Zilch. De nada.  What a disappointment. 😦 Do I need to mention that I was seriously ticked off?  Anyway, we drove into town and while ambling along, I found a stitchy shop! That would have made up for the disappointment… – had it been open. 😯

Never mind, now I know there is one and the Good Husband already offered to take me there again. To German standards, this shop is something spectacular!  What I saw through the window (yep, I had my nose stuck to that window for a looong time!) was really promising. Loads of fabric, different sorts of thread, beads, a wide variety of stitching band, a lot of UK/American leaflets and all sorts of nice goodies! Although I order most of my stuff online, it’s nice to go into a brick and mortar shop to fondle and drool. 😉

Okay, I’m rambling – time to shut up and show you some pics. Seeing as I already got carried away with pics I’ll only share three. For the last pic, I waited about five minutes for the people to get away so I could get a nice ‘clear’ pic, and the moment I took a pic a woman parked her behind on the steps. Go figure!

Ingolstadt

Ingolstadt

Ingolstadt

Enjoy the rest of the weekend and hope everyone gets lots of stitching and relaxing done! :mrgreen:

4 Comments »

  1. Dee said,

    Your pictures are lovely.

    The sunflower is really cool. I’ve never seen one like that.

  2. Sue said,

    Lovely pictures. I’m glad it sounds like you had a good time even if the one shop was missing and the other closed. It’s great to know where there is one you can go to, as visiting a shop and seeing things in real time is so much fun.

    Rose Sampler turned out beautifully, and your sunflower one is looking like it will be very pretty as well.

  3. Nancy said,

    Thank you for visiting my blog. Your Rose Sampler is beautiful! I stitched this one, and I love it even more framed.

    Happy stitching,
    Nancy

  4. Sally said,

    Rose Sampler is beautiful. I love the pretty colours in this one. You have made a good start on Sunflower:)


Leave a Reply

