Tuesday 5 June 2007

Snowman Stocking finished!

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:32 pm by knotsincotton

I haven’t done a lot of stitching since my last post because I was (im)patiently waiting for the Weeks Mulberry to arrive. Now, normally orders from the States takes approx. 10 days to get here, but obviously since I was in a hurry to get it it took longer than usual… Anyway, I received the thread yesterday so here is a pic of the finished stocking.

BC Stocking

Normally, after I  finish a project I rinse and iron the piece before I put it away – that way it’s ready for whenever I want to frame it or make it into something.  However, whenever using Weeks thread I always rinse and iron the fabric beforehand as the dark threads tend to bleed like crazy. So, stitching away with the GAST I wasn’t worried because the thread doesn’t really bleed and if, then very little. Imagine my horror when I realised that I forgot that the Weeks will run if I rinse this piece! * sigh* (It slipped my mind as there is only one Weeks colour and as luck would have it, it’s the darkest colour as well!) Fortunately I keep my stitching and hands meticulously clean so I can just dry iron the piece to (hopefully) get the wrinkles out. If not, you will hear my scream all around the globe…

In lieu of stitching, I finished an interesting book called ‘What Jane Austen Ate and Charles Dickens Knew’. This is a great book for lovers of Victorian novels although I must add that if you are British or were raised in a former British colony this book has very few terms/words/facts that’ll be new to you. So even though it wasn’t exactly a revelation, the writer has a witty style and the slight criticism of the era, (through the eyes of an American), will give Brits a good chuckle.

Jane Austen

After finishing the Stocking, I decided to start on a little LHN design called ‘Rose Sampler’ and have also kitted up a CCN sampler called ‘Sunflower Sampler’. They make a nice pair so will frame them and display them together.  I have quite a collection of LHN charts that needs stitching so decided to remedy the problem a.s.a.p. 😉 Yes, that pathetic little green line is, in fact a start! *rofl*

LHN Rose

On Saturday it’s my birthday, and the Good Husband surprised me by taking the Friday off work to take me somewhere for a long weekend.  After giving it a bit of thought, the two favs were London and Dresden.  After giving it a bit more thought, Dresden won hands down for the simple reason that it takes only three hours to get there whereas going to the airport, having to be there beforehand, the flight, waiting for luggage, etc takes way more than just three hours. Spending so much time traveling turns a long weekend into a very short one in the end!

5 Comments »

  1. Dee said,

    Your snowman is ADORABLE!!!!

    And yes, one little line of green definitely means a fresh start. I’ve stitched for hours and had less than that. LOL

  2. mary kathryn said,

    June I love your stocking and that book really looks fun! I sent you a package in the mail today!! Have you seen the new Daisy Sampler??

    :0)

  3. Sally said,

    Love the snowman stocking June. It’s really cute and I love the colours.

    Happy Birthday for Saturday. Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

  4. Sharon said,

    Oh, the stocking is gorgeous! Congrats.

  5. Sue said,

    Your stocking turned out wonderfully, very cute. Your new one Rose Sampler will be lovely as well. I’ve been thinking of getting this one for my stash, so will enjoy watching your progress on it.


Leave a Reply

