Friday 18 May 2007

Surprising myself…

Posted in Uncategorized at 9:53 pm by knotsincotton

Yesterday I got a pleasant surprise in the mail – gorgeous pet themed scrapbook goodies I ordered and then promptly forgot about.  I’m pretty sure that when you start getting surprise packages from yourself it can’t be a good sign… haha20.gif 

I want to make a small  scrapbook for our little hamster Bella and a big one for my dog Samson. Both went over the Rainbow Bridge – Samson the end of last year and Bella earlier this year. Okay, it’s not as if I don’t have pet themed papers and embellishments but these really caught my eye and I couldn’t resist buying a few sheets each of the papers and the matching embellishments. The pink and blue papers with matching ribbon and brads are from BoBunny Press’ Posh Pet series, the pink/black ribbons from Doodlebug and the other papers from Karen Foster Designs. 

Scrap

Even though stitching was slow going over the past three days the House Mouse is really coming along nicely and I’m hoping to finish it over the weekend if time allows.  There’s a lot of backstitching to be done and even though I hate backstitching with a passion, it does make a design ‘pop’ so it’s well worth the irritation! 😉

 HM

This weekend I want to do a bit of sewing and on top of finishing some things off, want to  make myself a decent pincushion. I started off with having no clear idea how to make one to having a stack of instructions and patterns. It’s a disgrace that I don’t own a proper pincushion, so if all goes well I can brag with a brand new pincushion (or three) in my next post! 😀

 Wishing everyone a great weekend!

5 Comments »

  1. Sue said,

    Lovely papers, and house mouse is looking adorable. Good luck with the backstitch, while it does make designs pop I agree with you that it is a real pain to do. I have a couple of projects that really seem to drag on forever due to the backstitching part needing to be done. Looking forward to seeing and hearing about your pincushion (or three).

  2. Annemarie said,

    LOL! Surprise packages from yourself, that’s a good one! Usually, I wait so long to order something, that I literally cannot wait until I get it. So I keep ordering something else every day, until something finally arrives. Believe me, I never get surprises from me!

  3. Dee said,

    Ohhhh….House Mouse is so cute. I can’t wait to see it all done.

    The papers are pretty too. I’m not a scrapper, but looking at all the cool stuff out there sure is tempting.

  4. monique said,

    Aww, sweet dreams is really looking cute 🙂 Love all that fun paper you suprised yourself with LOL

  5. Redwitch said,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, I hate back stitching to but it will be so worth it, I had the same feelings with a couple of flower fairies LOL!

    What a lovely way to remember your pets too 🙂


Leave a Reply

