Monday 7 May 2007

Spoiled Rotten Dogs

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:39 pm by knotsincotton

If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you have no doubt noticed that I have shown finished pieces but never finished off pieces.  If that leads you to the conclusion that I very seldom finish off pieces you’d be dead right! 😉

Don’t ask me why I’m so terrible at it – I have a box full of finished pieces that I have plans for… This one is to be framed, this one made into a pillow, a flat fold, a cube and the list goes on and on and on.

Anyway, I stitched Spoiled Rotten Dogs for my mum as she has a little dachshund named Lulu that thinks that she is in fact the biological offspring and we were adopted. 🙂 Well, I bought a little box frame that has a coffee themed tile and saw that it would be very easy to pry off the little tile in the center and put the stitched piece in. The little frame I will then decorate with some doggie buttons. (I’ll also use a little button in place of the stitched heart I omitted.)

I will post another pic once it’s all done up and ready to be mailed.

 Spoiled

Spoiled2

On another note – I tried to dye some fabric today. One with tea and one with coffee. The tea one came out absolutely horrible as it had red stains where the tea bag touched the fabric. The coffee piece turned out very pretty and when it’s dry and ironed I will post a pic. Someone once told me that when using tea or coffee to dye fabric it damages the fabric fibers so can’t be used for heirloom projects. No idea whether this is true or not but to be on the safe side I’ll use it for a little ‘fun’ project.

5 Comments »

  1. Annemarie said,

    This is a lovely project! Congrats on this finish-finish. It must be a stitcher’s curse: to stitch so much and then having it lying around for ages…

    I tea dye my fabrics all the time. It’s true that after a couple of years, the colour just washes out, and you’re left with something a bit grey-ish, but as far as I can tell, no real damage has occurred yet.

  2. Harmien said,

    Here’s another tip on fabric dyeing: ask Vonna (http://thetwistedstitcher.blogspot.com). She has a ‘recipe’ for basting and baking it in the oven (seriously!). I’ve seen pictures and it looks fantastic!!
    Your finish*finish is going to look fab. I love the idea of personalizing the frame with themed buttons!

  3. Sally said,

    What a fantastic finish! I love the little box you got for it.

  4. Thanks for the kind words, ladies.

    Annemarie – thanks for sharing your experience with tea dyed fabric. Now at least I know what to expect if I want to use it for a bigger project that may need a wash or two over the years.

    Harmien – thanks for the tip. I’ll get in touch with Vonna because that sounds way too interesting not to investigate. :mrgreen:

    Sally – I couldn’t believe my luck when I found the little frame!

  5. Sue said,

    Cute finish, and the frame will be adorable decorated with the buttons.


Leave a Reply

