Wednesday 7 February 2007

Old age is creepin’ up…

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:13 pm by knotsincotton

Since our little hamster passed the two year mark in September 06, I got into the habit of checking on her first thing every morning. (To say that I check every morning whether she’s still alive or not is a bit blunt, but that’s the long and short of it.)

She gets food and water every evening when we take her out of her cage for playtime, and just before I go to sleep I drop a little yoghurt treat in her cage.  So, every morning I check if the drop is where I left it. (Another crude way of finding out if she’s still alive seeing as I don’t want to wake her to check.)

Well, this morning I nearly had a heart attack… Yes, you guessed it – the well-loved treat was exactly where I left it the night before.  Still, I didn’t want to have a ‘proper’ look because I was a) scared that she’s dead and b) didn’t want to ruin her sleeping pattern.  Seeing as I was going to be in my craft room (aka Madam’s Room) the whole day I knew I’ll see her when she needs a drink of water.  So after writing a couple of letters and making up parcels, I hear the tell-tale sound of little Madam drinking water! I was so glad I could have jumped up and down for joy. 🙂

 I know that she is quite old for a hamster, but the thought of losing our sweet little baby just breaks my heart.

Still no pic of my current WIP (not that I stitched on it today anyway) but thought I’d treat you to some pics of our hammie. 🙂

Bella playing in her CritterTrail

Bella

Madam snacking on a yoghurt drop

Bella_2

Inspecting the Christmas presents

Bella_3

Playing Santa

Bella_4

Run, run, as fast as you can…

Bella_5

That’s all, folks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

